I want to start off my blog with a huge issue in today's day and age: Healthcare concerns.
Last Saturday, President Obama spoke to the public about his new "healthcare reform plan." He had also given out some frightening numbers about how many Americans do not have healthcare. The President had said that nearly 50% of people under the age of 65 have gone at least one month or more without healthcare.
I would like to take a few moments to talk about this percentage and these numbers.
First of all, this number includes people that choose not to have health insurance. Prime example, my fiance does not have health insurance through his line of work. He chooses to not pay for it separately because of how expensive it is. However, he rarely gets sick and never sees the need to go to the doctor. If he does get sick, he bundles up in several layers and blankets and "sweats it out."
While that method works for him, it does not for me. I was born with several issues dealing with my kidneys, and had surgery when I was a year old. That surgery had compromised my immune system indefinitely. A cold to one person can ultimately mean pnuemonia to me. I have had several sicknesses that have stumped the best doctor's, and could have easily killed other children.
I need the health care. I am still a dependent on my parent's plan, but have the option of healthcare through my job. I am one of the few lucky ones that has this opportunity.
Let's get down to the nitty gritty here:
Do I think everyone needs healthcare?
Plainly put, yes. I think healthcare for everyone is a must-have. Everyone gets sick every once in awhile. Not even that, there are tests now that we need to utilize in order to keep us healthy.
We need to be screened for things like STD's, cancer, and glaucoma...and that's not even including the specialty exams for the different sexes.
Obama's plan.
I'm not sure if Obama's plan is going to work. If we are going to have to pay more taxes in order to pay for everyone and their left knee to have healthcare, this is going to bring even more pressure into the recession we are already in.
Usually the economy can bounce back from a recession without any major changes. However, let's take a step back to high school for basic economics class.
If we are spending more money than we are producing, are we gaining more money or losing more money?
We're losing all of our money. The United States is in so much debt because we are spending so much money on all of the wrong reasons.
What is Vice President Joe Biden's excuse?
We are spending money to save money.
I'm doing a serious double-take right now. Oxymoron much? We are spending more money in order to save more money.
Where is our money getting spent? Because no one has seen the fruits of our labor in the economy. Nothing seems to be getting better, and yet American's are being asked to shell out more cash for things half of us probably don't understand.
This almost sounds like a bad joke.
How are we supposed to figure this out, with someone who is giving us false hope of a better tomorrow?
In my personal opinion, I feel like we are hamsters running on a wheel. I feel like we are starving and the only thing on the menu is crap.
We need to figure out a system that will work. One that everyone understands and that is good for this country.
Instead of shoving shady statistics in our face, give us the facts. Instead of telling us your childhood stories about being the typical problem child turned born again good boy, give us something real to chew on.
America does need help, but I feel like we aren't getting what we need as a country. This could pose a problem in the future, but I guess we will have to see.
Anyway, my laptop needs to be charged so another blog to come.
Saturday, September 12, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment